Guest Reviews

Reviewed: Mar 9, 2017
Paradise Awaits Another wonderful stay at Young at Heart Cottage. The house has every amenity one could think of, including lots of linens, dishes and toys for both young and old. It is steps to the beach. A 10 minute walk to Rathtrevor Provincial Park with lots of walking trails. It is minutes from Parksville with lots of shopping. Also close by is Goats on the Roof Market in Coombs where wonderful ice cream can be found. Milner Gardens is on the way to Qualicum Beach where wonderful teas are served in the old historic house. This is a wonderful place to say, especially for children to play on the beaches and a fantastic play area at the community Park in Parksville. The house has lots of attention to detail, showing the loving care of the owners. Peace and quite awaits with occasionally some deer in the backyard. Paradise truly awaits. Summer 2016
View Property: 107989
Reviewed: Mar 9, 2017
Wonderful home base for Island travels An exceptionally roomy home and garden area that served as our home base for almost a week. Great facilities, close to amenities and beaches. Clean and well equipped. Loved the daily visits of the rabbits in the yard, and the availability of the remnants of the summer garden for culinary needs. It is quiet, central and close to highways for island excursions. Better kitchen knives plus some steak knives would be great. Admittedly, these are my pet peeves in any place, and can imagine that it is difficult to keep half decent knives in a rental property. We found the TV a bit challenging to figure out initially, so a little bit more detail on set-up would be helpful. Overall, a fantastic holiday setting. Easily recommended. Spring 2016
View Property: 107990
Germany
Reviewed: Mar 9, 2017
It was a perfect home for our holidays and couldnt have been better placed on the island. The accommodation welcomes you on the first spot with its homelike feeling. The house is perfectly prepared and everything you need for daily needs is available. Although it is placed quite central and the road is close by, its not disturbing. You can reach shops to get your groceries, the beach and some restaurants within a walking distance. With your car you can reach out for some really nice spots on the island in every direction in an appropriate time. We can really recommend to stay at the Painters Nook, irrespective of the kind of your holidays. June 2016
View Property: 107990
Reviewed: Mar 9, 2017
We traveled to the island to visit my retired parents and found The Nook to be exactly what we needed in a house with amenities that exceeded our expectations. The home is beautifully maintained, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was clean and even had milk, bread and coffee available; a very nice touch. Centrally located with the backyard facing the Island Highway, there was a bit of noise from the gas station and road construction during the day, however at night it was perfectly quiet and clear enough to see the stars. Our kids loved the swings in the back yard and the deer and rabbits who would walk through the property. It was the perfect place to come home to after a long day of beaches and tourist attractions. Would highly recommend this beautiful property to anyone staying in the Parksville or surrounding areas; all amenities are close by, the house is clean and cared for with love. August 2016
View Property: 107990
Reviewed: Mar 9, 2017
Very Enjoyable Stay! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Artists Nook. The home is full of character and charm and the location is great. We enjoyed walks through the Englishman River Estuary, and bike rides to Rathtrevor Provincial Park and its wonderful beach. We found most amenities to be within an easy walk or bike ride! The huge lot, with ample parking, and vegetable garden were an added bonus. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely stay here again! May 2016
View Property: 107990
Reviewed: Mar 9, 2017
very cute cottage. great for kids with lots of different toys for them to play with. Fully secure fenced yard and property. Nice patio area that is covered for rainy days. Close to beach access and nice neighborhood for walks and bike rides. We had a very nice stay even though the weather wasnt great. July 2016
View Property: 107990
Reviewed: Mar 9, 2017
Excellent This is a great location. When we first drove up we were a little concerned about the highway behind, but were pleasantly surprised that we didnt hear it. We could walk to the grocery, the beach and even a large natural forested area. It was also an easy drive to explore Cooms, Englishman Falls, Horne Lake Caves, Port Alberni, Duncan, Port Campbell, Nanaimo and the off shore islands. Parksville and Quallicum Beach also have great galleries and museums. The house was super clean, comfortable and well appointed. There was even a care basket in the fridge,with basics such as milk, bread, butter, and little cereal boxes, so we wouldnt have to immediately rush to the grocery. Nice touch. Fall 2016
View Property: 107990
Reviewed: Mar 9, 2017
Outstanding! We stayed in YAH for five days with another family of four, and it could hardly have been better. The house is a sidesplit with two bedrooms on the main floor, two on the lower floor, and an open plan kitchen/dining/living area on the main floor. The house also has a spacious deck and a large yard. The layout provided our families with our own space (and bathrooms). The house isnt right on the beach, but there is very easy access and views from the windows were spectacular. Stacey communicated everything we needed and we had no troubles coming or going. Highly recommend . July 2016
View Property: 107989
Reviewed: Mar 9, 2017
We loved our stay for a month at The Painters Nook. The home is clean, inviting, and decorated tastefully. We liked knowing its history as an artists home, and the art on the walls. We enjoyed curling up in front of the gas fireplace on cold evenings. The owners have thoughtfully provided everything a guest needs, including toys for children and a Christmas tree with decorations. Lani and Stephanie responded quickly to our inquiries, and also were respectful of our privacy. The location in the heart of Parksville is also great. We highly recommend this rental home. December 2015
View Property: 107990